Victoria India Doctoral Scholarships Announced

22 February 2012

Ten of India’s leading PhD students have been awarded Victoria India Doctoral Scholarships by the Premier of Victoria Ted Baillieu in New Delhi.

Speaking at an Education Roundtable, Mr Baillieu said the scholarships supported research that contributed to global knowledge while also helping build closer partnerships between India and Victoria.

“The scholarships are being offered in partnership with Victoria's universities and offer an attractive new incentive for India's high-calibre students to come to Victoria for doctoral studies,” Mr Baillieu said.

The Director of the Australia India Institute, Professor Amitabh Mattoo, announced the successful PhD candidates alongside the Premier of Victoria and said he was delighted by the quality and diversity of the candidates.

"It is a wonderful opportunity for both the students and for Victorian universities to be involved in this scholarship program – it can only deepen the relationship between the two countries."

The Australia India Institute managed the Victoria India Doctoral Scholarship program for the Victorian Government.

Each scholarship is worth $90,000 over three years for doctoral research at one of Victoria’s nine universities who will waive tuition fees for successful recipients.

“More than 150,000 international students are already studying in Victoria, drawn by our internationally-regarded research infrastructure and high quality researchers and teachers,” said Mr Baillieu.

The ten recipients of the Victoria India Doctoral Scholarships are:

  • Mrs Sayali Shah, University of Melbourne
  • Mr Debabrata Sikdar, Monash University
  • Mr Sathish Thirunavukkarasu, Monash University
  • Mr Buvaneshwaran Venugopal, Deakin University
  • Ms Sreejoyee Ghosh, Deakin University
  • Mr Vignesh Rathinasamy, La Trobe University
  • Ms Jyotsna Nagpal, La Trobe University
  • Mr Rohan Shah, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Mr Abishek Suresh, RMIT University
  • Ms Hitu Sood, Australian Catholic University

Read the Victorian Government's press release

For information on the Victoria India Doctoral Scholarships programme for 2013 contact Shanka De Silva, Office Manager, Australia India Institute at