Australia India Youth Dialogue in Hyderabad

30 January 2014

Following their successful forums in New Delhi and Mumbai in 2012, and Melbourne in 2013, Australia India Youth Dialogue leaders converged on Hyderabad last week to continue this important conversation.

Formed in 2011 to connect promising youth from Australia and India, the AIYD is fostering generational partnerships whose positive impact will shape relations between the two countries in the 21st century.

The dialogue brings together 15 young Australian leaders and 15 young Indian leaders for talks on such issues as sustainability, international security, social innovation and education.

The Australia India Institute is a distinguished partner and will become the permanent home for the dialogue in 2015.

The Indian delegates are:

  • Aarti Wig: Founder and country director of Yunus Social Business India
  • Achutha Sharma: Director of Sulochana Development Trust, a charitable trust that supports Creative Arts & Design for social impact
  • Arun Chittilappilly: Managing Director at Wonderla Holidays Ltd
  • Aneesh Bhasin: Professional Photographer
  • Bhanu Joshi: Founder of Youth for Policy & Dialogue, India’s First Think Tank of young people
  • Chhavi Rajawat: India’s first woman Sarpanch (elected head) with an MBA
  • Faith Gonsalves: Program manager of arts and media projects for social development focused on at-risk children
  • Himanshu Gupta: Project Leader with the Planning Commission
  • Kashish Gupta: Senior Correspondent and Anchor with NDTV
  • Manu Sundaram: Founder-Director, Vaagai Advisory
  • Navras Jaat Aafreedi: Assistant Professor in the School of Humanities & Social Sciences, Gautam Buddha University
  • Nupur Sharma: Member of the Executive of Delhi State BJP 
  • Priyamvatha Panchapagesan: Journalist
  • Major Surendra Poonia: Armed forces Medical College
  • Suprita Das: Senior Sports Correspondent and Sports Anchor with New Delhi Television (NDTV)

The Australian delegates are:

  • Arvind Dixit: Senior Associate in the Intellectual Property and Technology group of national law firm Corrs Chambers Westgarth
  • Bede Moore: Australian entrepreneur
  • Benson Saulo: Australian Youth Representative to the United Nations
  • Chris O’Neill: Director of Hydronumerics Pty Ltd
  • Danielle Rajendram: Research Associate in the International Security Program at the Lowy Institute
  • Elizabeth Shaw: Executive Director of the UN Association of Australia
  • Holly Ransom: Western Australian of the Year and Young Volunteer of the Year
  • Julian O’Shea: Humanitarian engineer and not-for-profit worker 
  • Lauren Anderson: Public speaker and workshop facilitator
  • Monique Alfris: Co-founder of Pollinate Energy
  • Nicholas Carney: Infrastructure and finance senior associate in the Sydney office of global law firm Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Nicole Thomas: Counsellor, Resources and Energy at the Australian High Commission in New Delhi
  • Nigel Freitas: Reporter and presenter for the Sky News Business channel
  • Sam Almaliki: Senior Manager for Community Engagement at Cricket Australia
  • Stephanie March: India Correspondent for ABC’s Australia Network