24 June 2014

The Australia India Institute is pleased to announce the latest edition of our 

12 June 2014

The Australia-India Council (AIC) will be inviting applications under its 2014-15 general grants round from Friday 13 June (applications close on Sunday 3 August).

10 June 2014

Nirmala Sitharaman, a guest of the Australia India Institute, has been appointed as the Minister for Commerce & Industry, and the Minister for

04 June 2014

Australia India Institute (AII) inaugural director Amitabh Mattoo and Victorian Tourism Minister Louise Asher have been conferred with the Ashoka Award for their contributions to the India-Australia relationship.

03 June 2014

Ajit Doval, a recent guest speaker at the Australia India Institute has been appointed as India’s National Security Advisor (NSA). 

27 May 2014

After five years of policy paralysis under a dysfunctional coalition government, India, with a newly elected leadership, promises to once again become a major player in the Indo-Pacific region.

13 May 2014

The Australia India Institute is proud to launch the first of our Chanakya papers.

09 May 2014

He's a moustached and a bespectacled guy in his early 40s. An unremarkable-looking fellow with a receding hairline and a funny muffler wrapped around his head. He is not your immaculately dressed Narendra Modi, nor your polished Rahul Gandhi – the handsome scion of a political dynasty. If you watch him in action, even with the TV on mute, his body language and animated hand gestures speak volumes. He’s aggressive and restless. He’s Arvind Kejriwal.

24 April 2014

In India, the world's largest democracy, voting in the marathon six-week, nine-phase general election is continuing. Here Professor Amitabh Mattoo, Director of the Australia India Institute, and Nicholas Reece, Public Policy Fellow at the University of Melbourne, provide a primer on the logistics, the players, the parties, the policies, and the prospects of the leading campaigners.

23 April 2014

April 24 is the second-biggest voting day in India’s nine-phase election, with 117 seats up for grabs. The constituencies are located across the sub-continent, stretching from Nowgong in India’s northeast state of Assam to Anantnag in Jammu and Kashmir.